Grandmaster Tse’s Qìgōng Dāo 氣功道 332

Five Skills – Part 1

Chùn Yuén Quán 俊元拳

In the Tse Qigong Centre we have five skills: Qìgōng 氣功, Chùn Yuén Quán 俊元拳, Wing Chun Kung Fu 詠春功夫, Chén Tàijíquán 陳家太極拳 and Hard Qìgōng 硬氣功. It is like the Five Elements, so it is perfect. The Five Elements are Wood, Fire, Earth, Metal and Water. Each skill belongs to an element. Wing Chun is Wood, Hard Qìgōng is Fire, Chùn Yuén Quán is Metal, Chén Tàijíquán is Water and Dàyàn Qìgōng 大雁氣功 is Earth.

People will ask, “How do we know which one is which?” To understand this we have to compare the character of each skill to the each other. Wing Chun is wood, because wood is straighter and Wing Chun is based on straight lines. Hard Qigong is fire and because of the training, this is easy to see. Hard Qigong involves a lot of special breathing that creates power and so it is fire. Dàyàn Qìgōng is earth because earth is the centre of all other skills. Qìgōng works on the centre, the centre is the Dāntián 丹田, and the centre is earth. Chùn Yuén Quán is metal. Metal is strong, powerful and fast, like a machine. So when we practise Chùn Yuén Quán, compared to the other skill, it has the fastest movements. Tàijíquán is water, it flows and can be slow and gentle like water.

0 replies

Leave a Reply

Want to join the discussion?
Feel free to contribute!

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.